2023 Sundance Movie Pageant Awards — Listing of Winners — Deadline

The Sundance Movie Pageant has revealed the winners of the 2023 Jury and Viewers Awards.

Large winners of the day included Maryam Keshavarz winners Persian modelwhich claimed the Viewers Award and the Waldo Salt Screenplay Award within the US Dramatic Competitors, in addition to the AV Rockwell Award A thousand and extrae, which obtained the Grand Jury Prize in the identical part.

Different titles that took dwelling prime prizes included Pageant Favourite Radical from director Christopher Zalla and 3Pas Studios; Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Mission by Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson, who obtained the Grand Jury Prize for American Documentary; Madeleine Gavin Past Utopia, which obtained the US Documentary Viewers Award; and of D. Smith Metropolis of Kokomowhich dominated the NEXT part after claiming each the Innovator and Viewers awards.

Written, directed and produced by Keshavarz for Archer Gray, Persian model watches as a big Iranian-American household gathers for the patriarch’s coronary heart transplant, with a secret then revealed that catapults an estranged mom and daughter into an exploration of the previous.

One thousand and One follows the impatient and free-spirited Inez (Teyana Taylor) as she kidnaps 6-year-old Terry (Josiah Cross) from the foster care system, satisfied it is a ultimate, obligatory crime on the highway to redemption. Clinging to their secret and one another, mom and son got down to reclaim their sense of dwelling, identification and stability in New York Metropolis. Lena Waithe is among the many producers.

Radical follows a annoyed instructor (Eugenio Derbez) exploring new academic strategies in a Mexican border city, with Going to Mars reflecting on the lifetime of poet Nikki Giovanni, and Past Utopia following households fleeing North Korea. Then, there’s the acquired Magnolia Footage Metropolis of Kokomocharting the experiences of 4 transgender staff as they grapple with the dichotomy between the black neighborhood and themselves.

Jurors in attendance for the Sundance Awards announcement, broadcast dwell on the pageant’s social media channels from The Ray Theater in Park Metropolis, Utah, included Jeremy O. Harris and Marlee Matlin for the US Drama Competitors, Ramona Diaz and Carla Gutierrez for the Competitors of US Documentaries, Funa Maduka for World Cinema Dramatic Competitors and Madeleine Olnek for NEXT.

The 2023 pageant has highlighted 111 function movies and 64 shorts, chosen from 15,856 submissions, via screenings in Park Metropolis, Salt Lake Metropolis and the Sundance Resort. Over 75% of brief and feature-length works, together with many chosen Indie Episodics, can be accessible for streaming via the celebration’s on-line platform till January 29.

Sundance’s first in-person pageant for the reason that Covid pandemic was marked by various large sell-outs – most of which we have been the primary to report. The primary title to land a significant deal was Chloe Domont’s thriller Sport with out cheats, starring Phoebe Dynevor and Alden Ehrenreich, which went to Netflix for round $20 million. John Carney’s musical drama Flora and sonstarring Eve Hewson and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, went to Apple for a similar, with Searchlight selecting up the improv ensemble comedy Theater camp for about 8 million {dollars}. Mubi took on Ira Sachs’ relationship drama lest yewith A24 in talks to amass the buzzy Midnight title Discuss to me since tuesday.

Final yr’s Sundance ceremony solidified the award trajectory of 4 of the 5 contenders for the 2023 Documentary Movie Oscar — these titles are Navalny (Public Award of the Documentary Competitors, Favourite Award of the Pageant), Fireplace of Love (Jonathan Oppenheim Modifying Award), All the pieces that breathes (World Documentary Cinema Competitors Documentary Award) and A home product of items (World Documentary Cinema Competitors Directing Award). The pageant proved much more necessary for the awards race the yr earlier than, with Sian Heder profitable the Oscar for Finest Image. CODA and Questlove’s Finest Documentary Winner Wine of the soul protecting his finger on the heartbeat in each the narrative and the documentary.

See the checklist of winners for 2023 beneath.


Director: Kristofor Zalla


Grand Jury Prize

One thousand and One
Director: AV Rockwell

Viewers Award

Persian model
Director: Maryam Keshavarz

Award for guiding

Sing J. Lee
The hit-and-run driver

Jury Prize: Inventive Imaginative and prescient

Desires journal
Director: Elijah Bynum

Waldo Salt Screenplay Award

Maryam Keshavarz
Persian model

Particular Jury Prize: Appearing

Leo Mehiel

Jury Prize: Ensemble

Theater Camp
Administrators: Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman


Grand Jury Prize

Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Mission
Administrators: Joe Brewster, Michèle Stephenson

Viewers Award

Past Utopia
Director: Madeleine Gavin

Award for guiding

Luke Lorentzen
A nonetheless small voice

Particular Jury Prize: Readability of Imaginative and prescient

Administrators: Kristen Lovell, Zackary Drucker

Particular Jury Prize: Freedom of Expression

The unhealthy press
Administrators: Rebecca Landsberry-Baker, Joe Peeler

Jonathan Oppenheim Modifying Award

Daniela I. Quiroz
Go to school in Mariachi


Viewers Award

20 days in Mariupol (Ukraine)
Director: Mstylav Chernov

Grand Jury Prize

Everlasting Reminiscence (Chile)
Director: Maite Alberdi

Award for guiding

Sisterhood smoke sauna (Estonia/France/Eire)
Director: Anna Hints

Particular Jury Prize: Verite Filmmaking

Towards the Tide (India)
Director: Sarvnik Kaur

Particular Jury Prize: Inventive Imaginative and prescient

Unbelievable automobile (Sweden/Denmark)
Director: Axel Danielson


Viewers Award

factor (Australia)
Director: Noora Niasari

Grand Jury Prize

Scraper (UK)
Director: Charlotte Regan

Award for guiding

Maria Kavtaradze
Sluggish (Lithuania/Spain/Sweden)

Particular Jury Prize: Inventive Imaginative and prescient

the animal (France/Morocco/Qatar)
Director: Sofia Alaoui

Particular Jury Prize: Finest Efficiency

Rosa Marchant
When It Melts (Belgium/Netherlands)

Particular Jury Prize: Cinematography

Lili Soares
Mom Moon (Nigeria)


Viewers Award

Metropolis of Kokomo
Director: D. Smith

Innovator Award

Metropolis of Kokomo
Director: D. Smith


Grand Jury Prize

When he left me on that boulevard (USA)
Director: Kayla Abuda Galang

Jury Prize: American Fiction

Relaxation cease
Director: Crystal Kayiza

Jury Prize: Directing, Worldwide

Valeria Hofmann
AliEN0089 (Chile)

Jury Prize: Directing, USA

Jarreau Carrillo

Jury Prize: Animation

The Flying Mariner
Administrators: Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis (Canada)

Jury Prize: Nonfiction

Will you have a look at me? (China)
Director: Shuli Huang

Jury Prize: Worldwide Fiction

Abduction of the bride (Germany)
Director: Sophia Mocorrea


Alfred P. Sloan Characteristic Movie Award

Era Pod
Director: Sophie Barthes

Amazon Studios Nonfiction Award

Jess Devaney
It is simply life in any case

Amazon Fiction Studios Award

Kara Durret
Star Woman

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Modifying Non-Movie Articles

Mary Manhardt

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Modifying Fiction

Troy Takaki

Sundance/NHK Award

The Nwosu olive tree

Sundance Institute | Collective Star Creativeness Awards

Tamara Shogaolu
40 hectares

Navid Khonsari, Vassiliki Khonsari and Andres Perez-Duarte
Block Celebration Bodega

Vanessa Keith
The yr 2180

Gayle Stevens Volunteer Award

Carlos Sanchez

Leave a Comment